"Dust bunnies have nothing on me"

"The sunrays slice through the air and make the dust in the air visible. I take aim at one little dust particle and follow its playful way in the light, until it is lost together with the rest of the dust outside of the sunrays and I can't find it anymore. That little particle is much like me now, lost and bunched up with everyone else. I will never find that particular bit of dust again, it is forever lost to me, the same way I'm lost.


Dark shadows hunt me as I race towards what I believe is my saving grace. Again and again I bump against walls that are jagged and sharp, scraping my fragile skin. I can feel blood trickle down my bare arms, drawing crimson patterns against the paleness. Suddenly I'm trapped in a dead end and the shadows creep closer. As they close in, hovering over me, I feel my throat closing up and the air can't find its way down to my lungs. Gasping, I wrap my hand around my neck. This is it.


Startled I twist in the sheets, choking the scream that nearly escaped from my mouth and pant as my pulse slows down. Same dream as every time I sleep. You would think I should be used to it now, but the fear never subsides. The sunrays are gone and have been replaced with a hollow blackness. It's more comforting then it should be. Because now everyone is lost, when there's no sun to single you out. We're all in the shadows, equal. Lost together."



Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0